Deputy Dog Control Officer: Nancy Quell – same numbers
Phone: (518) 692-2840
facebook : Nancy j quell
165 Hartford Main Street
Hartford, New York 12838
All dogs residing in New York State MUST be licensed. Licenses are issued at the Town Clerk’s Office and are renewed annually. On October 1, 1992, Washington County was declared a rabies county. Therefore, all dogs, cats and ferrets must be vaccinated against the rabies disease. The Town Clerk cannot issue a dog license without proof of rabies vaccination.
Local Law No. 7 of 2010 “A Local Law Setting Forth Dog Control Regulations in the Town of Hartford” went into effect on January 1, 2011.
When your dog reaches the age of four months old, or if it has been found to be running-at-large, it is time to license your dog. Running at large means “any dog that is unleashed and on property open to the public or is on private property not owned or leased by the owner of the dog unless permission for such presence has been obtained.” Bring a current rabies vaccination certificate and proof of spaying or neutering of your dog to the Town Clerk’s Office. If you are renewing your license, please bring in the form sent to you by the Town Clerk. Check to be sure your rabies information is current on the renewal form. If it is not, the clerk will require a new rabies certificate.
License fees are:
Spayed/Neutered Animals: $ 4.50
Unspayed or Unneutered Animals: $ 17.50
When licensing your dog for the first time, you will be given an identification tag for your dog to wear. The number on the tag will coincide with the license number on the paper license the clerk issues. Section 119 of the NYS Agriculture and Markets Law requires that your dog wear this tag for identification purposes. Failure to do so may result in issuance of a ticket, seizure of your dog and/or fines.
If your tag becomes lost, you may obtain a new tag from the Town Clerk. The fee is $ 3.00.
EXOTIC PET OWNERS
NYS Law requires the owners of exotic pets to register them with the municipal clerk in the Town in which they reside. There is no fee. This registration is required to provide for the safety of fire, emergency services and police personnel should an emergency occur at your residence.
If your dog is picked up the impoundment fees are as follows:
1st offense : $ 35.00 pickup fee plus $ 10.00, plus $18.00 per each additional 24 hours or part thereof.
2nd offense: $ 35.00 pickup fee plus $ 20.00, plus a fee of $3.00 and $18.00 for each additional 24 hours or part thereof.
3rd offense : $ 35.00 pickup fee plus $ 30.00, plus a fee of $3.00 and $18.00 for each additional 24 hours or part thereof.
Weekend, Legal Holidays and after 7:00 p.m.: An additional $ 25.00 will be added to the impoundment fee.
Should your dog need emergency medical attention, the Animal/Dog Control Officer will care for your animal and charge you any additional veterinary fees over the pickup costs and boarding fees.